The Man Who Always Wished That He Could Read & Other Poems

Happy National Poetry Month!  In its honor, we wanted to share a couple of poems that our learners have written for our In Our Words books over the years.  Enjoy!


The Man Who Always Wished That He Could Read
by James B. Martin

I’m wishing upon a star,
No matter where you are.
I’m wishing upon a dream
So far away it seems.
Now that I can read,
The dream has come true.


My Best Friend is a Dog
by Vanory Askew

He’s happy, fast, and smart
He takes me everywhere
He’ll never break my heart

He listens to me read
He never judges me
He knows I go to school
Someday I will succeed


World Peace
by Phatsanphon Chinwong

Wish everywhere, there was no war
Or no harm, no hatred
Race-less all around
Land of happiness
Do it right now, everyone

Power of love and
Equality could make
A world that supports us
Can we lend our hands?
Everything is possible

Leave a Reply

  • 4805 Park Ave. Suite 305
    Nashville, TN 37209